High on Fire to perform at Roadburn 2013 Dream Death, Psychic Tv/Ptv3 and Penance confirmed too Oakland, CA heavy metal juggernaut High on Fire will bring their sonic assault to Roadburn Festival 2013 for two exclusive shows.

On Thursday, April 18th, High on Fire will play their landmark debut, 'The Art of Self Defense', in its entirety. Initially released in 2000 by Man's Ruin Records (and now reissued by Southern Lord), 'The Art of Self Defense' displayed a new, intensely primal attitude for stoner rock / metal that broke away from the laid back desert bands.

On Saturday, April 20th, drummer Des Kensel and his will bring their brute force musicianship and thundering roar, anchored in an endlessly captivating, punkishly frantic sound to Roadburn 2013. This set will showcasing High on Fire's obsession with Motörheadish thrash, rendered on classics like De Vermis Mysteriis, and Snakes for the Divine.

Jus Oborn, lead vocalist and guitarist Electric Wizard, is hosting the Electric Acid Orgy at Roadburn Festival 2013. He presents two more bands: Dream Death (featuring Mike Smail on drums) and Psychic TV/PTV3 (since 2006 with Eddie O'Dowd on drums).

For the first time since touring with Cathedral and Sleep in 1993, doom pioneers Penance (the 'Parallel Corners' lineup, also featuring Mike Smail on drums) will return to Europe for an exclusive appearance at Roadburn 2013.

Ash Borer, Fell Voices, The Atlas Moth, Intronaut, Maserati, The Midnight Ghost Train and Raketkanon are also confirmed for Roadburn Festival 2013.

Roadburn Festival 2013, including Electric Wizard, Godflesh playing 'Pure' in its entirety for the first time ever, Neige (Alcest) as artist-in-residence , Spiritual Beggars, Ihsahn and Die Kreuzen reunion among others, will run for four days from Thursday, April 18th to Sunday, April 21st, 2013 (the traditional Afterburner event) at the 013 venue in Tilburg, Holland.

Roadburn 2013 sold out; Tickets for the traditional Afterburner event are still available.
images (1)
featured artists
featured music
featured releases (1)